Ray Bradbury Is My Hero

Mr. Bradbury 1920-2012

A few years ago I declared a summer of horror. Three months in the sun reading about “darkness”. I picked two authors and alternated books, a book by Stephen King followed by a book by Ray Bradbury over and over well into the fall. My summer of horror turned out to be a major turning point in my life because I got to know Ray Bradbury.

I loved Fahrenheit 451The Martian Chronicles, Dandelion Wine, and Something Wicked This Way Comes, they were my favorites. I listened to Bradbury read these stories himself on audio books. His voice brought the characters to life. I love the sweet, down home, apple pie aesthetic of the people and the small towns in his stories and how they were always conflicted with some sort of darkness that they must face. It was magical and I was inspired to learn more about him as a writer and a person. I read articles and interviews, I watched documentaries to learn as much as I could about him because I thought he was brilliant.

Bradbury has many times been quoted to say that he considered himself raised by libraries and that he didn’t believe in colleges and universities. This is the most valuable information to ever grace my personal life. I used to pine about missing my chance to go to art school. I felt that since I was married, a stay-at-home mom and a housewife that the dream of becoming a writer and an artist was something unobtainable, so I considered myself retired from my dreams and I devoted all my energy, and I mean all my energy, into being a home maker because I thought that was what I was supposed to do. How could I have a career without school or a degree? It wasn’t working and I was failing because I wasn’t allowing myself to be creative. I had to do something different and thanks to Ray Bradbury I figured out what.

Well, when I discovered that Ray Bradbury took his education and his goals in life into his own capable hands I was inspired to do the same. Thanks to materials and tools found in my local library, Netflix and youtube, I soon discovered that I could be a dynamo mom/housewife and also a published writer, a published photographer, a song writer, a ukulele player, a performer, a painter, and an animator. It’s silly for me to think how hopelessly lost a chance at education felt. I didn’t need to seek out an institution to be successful, I needed to make my own, and I did. I created the The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts! It’s an establishment made purely of idea. The idea is if you want to lean how to do something, get to it. Start at the library and then seek out any other tools you can find to educate yourself!

Even though I think it would be a marvelous experience to go to art school, it is far too important to me to make sure my kid is being nurtured and guided so that he can grow up into a healthy, happy adult someday. I take that job very seriously. I also take my art career very seriously and I have grown and expanded my knowledge beyond my wildest dreams. Do you know what? There is plenty of time and resources for both with The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts. I have been a student there for two years now and I will be a student there for the rest of my life.

To enroll in the Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts all you have to do is figure out what you want to know then get yourself to the library and learn it. As the Dean, the board, the faculty and the student body I welcome you to join this imaginary institution and in loving memory of my hero Mr. Ray Bradbury please seek out your dreams and make them a reality!

Thank you Ray Bradbury, for inspiring me to educate myself. I am a better person for it.

Here’s a link to an art journal called Line Zero where I wrote an article about The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts.

Also check out all the projects I’ve done in The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts Category to the right of this page.

Ray Bradbury-Story of a Writer

Advice to Writers Ray Bradbury

This entry was posted in Actuate, Daily Something or Other, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ray Bradbury Is My Hero

  1. So beautifully expressed Jackie.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Post — January 23, 2013 | SnoValley Writes!

Leave a Reply

