Homework from the Future

A few weeks ago, a friend on facebook posted a video on their timeline. It was called Overview from the Planetary Collective. I watched it and while I did electrons pulsed through my brain and gave me a glimpse into the future by means of a seventh grader’s homework assignment.

The Overview Effect is a cognitive shift in awareness reported by some astronauts and cosmonauts during spaceflight, often while viewing the Earth from orbit or from the lunar surface.

It refers to the experience of seeing firsthand the reality of the Earth in space, which is immediately understood to be a tiny, fragile ball of life, hanging in the void, shielded and nourished by a paper-thin atmosphere.

After learning about the Overview Effect. I wrote this short story…

Quadrant D

By Jacquelyn Fedyk

The following is Alex Anne Lively’s  OOEP (Outreach Overview Experience Project) journal entries for the year 2068. Alex is a 13 year old female, Quadrant D Citizen, the first in her neighborhood to experience the Overview Tour.

April/18/2068

Alex Lively Age 13

Mrs. Quincy 7th Grade Class

Mitchell Jr. High

 

Outreach Overview Experience Project Journal Questionnaire

Tell us about yourself:

My name is Alex (short for Alexandra) Lively and I live in Quadrant D. My Dad says QD is the last of the wild frontier. We’re the last of the poor and uneducated in the New Global Society; at least that’s what they say about us in the news. Every state has a Quadrant D. We live in Washington’s QD, in a small town called Miller.

My Dad wants a better life for me. Ever since I can remember it’s been just me and Dad. My mother died when I was a baby, I never knew her.  My Dad is overprotective of me but I don’t mind it. Most of my friends have parents who hardly care for them at all. It‘s just the way it is out here, Quadrant D has a bad reputation.  It can be scary but I’m used to it.

This year I was chosen to participate in The Overview Experience Project.  I will be one of the first Global Citizens of Quadrant D to be able to have the experience.  I was chosen because I am regarded as an “at risk-youth.”  I’m not really at risk if you ask me. I think I was chosen because of where I live, how I dress and who I hang out with. My friends get into a lot of trouble but I’m usually home with Dad before it even gets dark outside so I don’t get in trouble as much as they do.  I get good grades, I don’t skip school and I’ve never done drugs. My Dad would kill me.

Explain what The Outreach Overview Experience Project is and what it means to you:

The Overview Experience Project is a government outreach program to educate and create a shift of consciousness to promote empathy and unity in the youth of the Quadrant D Educational Systems. (I got that right off the pamphlet). Basically the government is forcing me to blast off into space so I can look at the Earth. Supposedly this is going to change my views on the world and help me to become a more peaceful, happy and productive citizen.  I was reading in the pamphlet that Quadrant D citizens only make up 25% of the Earth’s population and that 40 years ago it was 75%. After experiencing the Overview Effect I am supposed to have a shift in consciousness. I do not understand how this works but I believe that it works. In history class we’ve been learning that the first people to ever have the Experience were Astronauts who went into space 100 years ago. Our school is named after one of those Astronauts, Edgar Mitchell.  Mostly they were scientists who were doing studies in outer space and once they blasted off they looked out the window of their craft and saw our planet from a new perspective. This experience changed their lives.

Explain what the Quadrants are and how they were formed:

Now a days, most of the world’s population has taken the Overview Tour. Quadrant A citizens have been taking the tour since the year 2017. The first to blast off in a commercial tour craft were government officials from all over the world including the first female president of the United States.  Once the world’s leaders had the Experience they formed the Global Citizen Alliance and that was when Quadrant B was formed in 2026.

The next people who went into space were mostly wealthy or very important people in early world culture, land owners, CEO’s of important companies, movie stars, film makers, poets, writers and musicians.  Once these people had the Overview Experience our world culture began to change. That was when we first began to see ourselves as separate parts of one system a system that we are all a part of.  Land owners became more interested in preserving our planet whereas before they were mostly interested in money and often misused their land for capital gain. Artists created work to express their experiences with the Overview Effect. Musicians wrote songs. Film makers and animators created movies about it, poets and writers wrote books on the subject and soon the rest of the global population became interested in it and that was when Quadrant C was formed in 2040.

CEO’s of global companies started the Outreach Project. They built more and more commercial crafts and stations all over the world. Then they began sending their employees into space. It was the first time the average citizen was able to have the experience. Quadrant C is made of the average citizens who have had the experience and the rest of the population became Quadrant D.

Quadrant D is the  population of global citizens who have not had the Overview Experience yet. Some of Quadrant D has been refusing the Experience. There are conspiracy theories about global government brainwashing and things like that.  I personally don’t believe in conspiracy theories, mostly because all of the violence in the world now happens in Quadrant D neighborhoods and never in other Quadrants unless a QD citizen is involved. I know because I see this every day.  Before the Overview Experience tours people didn’t care as much about one another. Countries went to war with themselves and other countries; mostly they fought over politics, religion and money.

Even though Quadrant D is considered poor and uneducated we are far better off than we were 40 years ago. We have a much healthier environment to exist in.  There is food and healthcare and clean decent housing.  I’ve seen digitals of what underprivileged neighborhoods looked like back before the OEP, back in the early 2000s. Our QD neighborhoods are way better in comparison.

My dad says a lot of QD citizens think that the other Quadrants look down on us and that they are against us. We don’t believe the other Quadrants are against us; a lot of QDs see it that way and separate themselves from the other Quadrants, but we don’t.  My best friend Lucy is in Quadrant C and I’ve been to her neighborhood lots of times. There’s less drama in QC neighborhoods. I’ve never been to a Quadrant A or B neighborhood but my friend Lucy has. She says Quadrants A and B are not that different than Quadrant C.  I know lots of QA and QB citizens. My teacher Mrs. Quincy is a QA citizen and everybody in school loves her, she’s wonderful and helps us all so much.

My dad says the only thing separating the other Quadrants from Quadrant D is having or not having the experience. He thinks most QD citizens are not ready for the experience emotionally and that’s why some even refuse it. He says they’re frightened because they are uneducated, by choice and that they are afraid of change. He encourages me to embrace change and learn as much as I can. I’m looking forward to blasting off next week.  Now it’s my turn to have the Overview Experience and I get to bring my Dad with me.

I’m extremely excited and I’m already packed.  This time next week Dad and I will be Quadrant C citizens!

 

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other, Miscellaneous Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homework from the Future

  1. jillian says:

    A wonderful story, Jackie. I’m going to share this with my friend Nate. He’ll appreciate it the same as I do. You should consider writing a book about this.

Leave a Reply

