31 Pieces Connected!

31 Pieces Connected

It took 13 hours of sewing in awkward positions but I got it together! 31 Pieces is now unified. I did all the sewing while my son was at school and after he went to bed at night. I sat on the edge of the couch and joined each piece while watching art documentaries.

I had a lot of time to contemplate this project while I was joining it together. During the month of March I made a commitment to myself and my readers, a drawing a day. Every day of the month of March weather I felt like it or not I did a drawing on a piece of torn up paper. The pieces were separated from an 18″x24″ page of paper from my large sketchbook. Everyday I took a request from a reader or a facebook friend and drew something based on that request, then wrote a little story to go with it.

The purpose of the project, when I started, was to improve my drawing skills and entertain my readers, but as I did the work I found out that it was more than that.

Why this project? Why now? My friend Jenny has a tattoo on her wrist, a heart with a banner across it. Inside the banner it says “Connect”. I remember when she got that tattoo. She told me it was to remind her to connect with other people.

I thought about that mark on her arm over and over again while I did the tedious work of sewing these drawings together. Third row from the bottom on the left of 31 Pieces is an anatomical heart, Piece 3-6. It is the heart of the project, my heart. The thread that connects 31 Pieces is red, it is like a vein bringing life to each corpuscle. The blood red thread joins together 31 ideas from 31 people who’s lives I have participated in or who have participated in mine by reading my blog. The more I thought about it, the clearer it became to me. I want to connect with others. I want to participate. I want to participate in art and adventure, friendships, people and most of all life.

So here she is the connected 31 Pieces. She looks like Frankenstein’s monster. She was not easy to connect, the page is a few inches smaller in all around diameter because each piece had to give a little bit of itself to join the the others around it. It’s just the same with people. We each have to give a piece of ourselves in order to connect with others. It brings us closer together and makes our world just a bit smaller and closer. I like it! 🙂

I’m sending out a big THANKS to everybody who participated in this social art experiment. I hope you enjoyed being a part of 31 Pieces. I loved that you were! xoxo

This entry was posted in 31 Pieces and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 31 Pieces Connected!

  1. jenny lynn says:

    Oh Jackie. I love your heart!

  2. Incredible.

    “Don’t do what you want. Do what you don’t want. Do what you’re trained not to want. Do the things that scare you the most.”
    — Chuck Palahniuk (Invisible Monsters)

  3. Linda says:

    Jackie,
    Beautifully said and done! The piece is wonderful and the feelings and thoughts
    brought out are stimulating and beautifully said!

  4. tommiaw says:

    Jackie, this is nothing short of phenomenal! I have enjoyed the prowless of the pen you have shown with each of these pieces and the stories you wrote to accompany them were entertaining and enlightening! Thank you for continuing to be an artist of inspiration!

  5. SquirrelFist says:

    What an amazing project! It’s like Broken Social Scene but in art. I feel very inspired, I might even brave the squelchy English weather to go take some photos.

Leave a Reply

