Church for Sale!

A place for The Church of the Sacred Heart of the Dreamer?

Look at what I found.

Yesterday I went to a new thrift store in Snoqualmie. I’ve been wanting to check it out for a while now because they always have the prettiest things in the window. I didn’t find anything I needed inside but I did find out that they take donations and do non-profit work for the homeless. So I thought I’d add it to my list of places I like to donate to. I took the back road out of the parking lot onto a street I don’t normally drive down. It was there that I found a church for sale.

Earlier that day I had been wondering if The Church of the Sacred Heart of the Dreamer could actually exist as a real church and not just a state of mind. What if we had a building?

I was surprised to find a church for sale. I’d never seen that before. I began to fantasize about it. I saw our church sponsoring art classes, writing workshops, open mics and lectures from other artists and creators. “Wow,” I thought. “What could I do with a building like that for The Church of the Sacred Heart of the Dreamer?” I deiced I would go back today to take a picture and write about it.

Today is a typical Pacific North West day in the Valley, cold, gray and rainy. I drove to the church to take a photo knowing that doing a little blog work would cheer me up on this gloomy day. I stood outside and snapped a few photos. I noticed a car was parked in front of the church and hanging in the back seat of the car was a clean pressed men’s shirt with a black striped tie and a name tag pinned to the pocket.

“Must belong to the preacher.” I thought. Then I wondered if he might be there? I really wanted to look inside to see what it was like in there, but I deiced not to go nosing around the windows, I didn’t want to freak anybody out. But, just as I was getting into my car, two people came out of the double doors of the church. One was an older man with white hair, he had a stack of old books under his arm, the other was a middle aged women. I really wanted to go and talk to them but I was suddenly feeling very shy.

The woman, Nancy said hi to me so I gathered my courage to go over and talk to them. They agreed to let me in and show me around. It was awesome in there! So much room, for so many projects. I loved it.

Outside the pastor was asking me questions about my faith and why I was so curious about the church. I told him I felt drawn to it, and it was true. He then asked me if I was a writer. I was very surprised at his question. How did he know I wanted to write about this place? I didn’t say anything about it while I was on my tour of the inside. I told him I was and that I was planning on writing about the church on my blog. He looked at me like he knew that already and encouraged me to look into it further.

I wonder, could I really have a found a place for our church, a sanctuary for the dreamers? I really wish this place could be for us.

This entry was posted in The Church of the Sacred Heart of the Dreamer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Church for Sale!

  1. jessica says:

    That is incredible!

  2. Jessica says:

    That is incredible!
    An actually physical place where your creativity and other’s can merge. I always believe everything happens for a reason and sometimes, things just seem to fall into place.

  3. squirrelfist says:

    Look at that board for slogan potential! You could have a competition every week on your blog for a new one. The possibilities are endless. I’m excited and I live a couple of thousand miles away!!

  4. ltyprin says:

    I think it is a beautiful idea. Imagine a place where you could come to write out, paint, or create your dreams in whatever way your soul desires and be truly supported by those around you. A place to ground your manifestations into this world, a place to hold and protect and nurture your dreams, a place for community, a place for inspiration, a place for creativity, and a place of your soul’s full expression – how amazing. Thank you for dreaming!

  5. I’m still looking for the perfect church! This one has been turned into a farming school for preschoolers. We took a walk over there recently and I was taking pictures of a pig pushing a rabbit around in the farmyard.

    One of the teachers was in the back working on a project. She noticed us and invited us in the yard to pet the animals. They have rabbits, goats, ducks, chickens and a really pushy potbelly pig. I cuddled all of them.

Leave a Reply

