Happy Father’s Day to Joey

16 years ago on Father’s day I neglected to call my Dad and wish him well. I was 17, still in high school and lived at home with my mom, my Dad lived in another town.

Later I found out that he waited all day for me to call him and when I didn’t he was very hurt and went to his favorite bar to drink his troubles away.

My Dad was great. He was fun and happy. He played games with me when I was young. He was funny and made everybody laugh.

Once he made a treasure map for me and buried a box in the vacant lot next door. When I discovered the box it was filled with real treasures, comic books and candy.

When I was in the 2nd Grade, he made my Queen of Hearts Halloween costume out of a pillow case. He drew it on so that I looked like a real queen from a deck of cards. He made me a paper crown with red glitter and took me to the class parade.

One day he dressed us up in clown make-up and we just did all of our regular day to day things. We let the people in the store and the library laugh and wave at us… just for fun.

Once he tried to build a castle out of pennies and glue, but it got too heavy.

He painted, he sang, he sculpted, he took photos and developed them in his own dark room. He read me Alice in Wonderland.

He was Joey, my Dad.

16 years ago I didn’t call to wish him a Happy Father’s Day and by the time Father’s Day came around the next year he was gone. He had a heart condition and passed away at age 39.

So today I would like to wish my Father the happiest Day ever! Dad, I love and miss you with all my heart, where ever you are. Happy Father’s Day.

Me and my Dad

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Father’s Day to Joey

  1. writingwildy says:

    So very tragically true we just never know if we will see each other again. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Reblogged this on Avant-Garde In My Backyard and commented:

    Tribute to Joey from last Father’s Day…

Leave a Reply

