Update – Let Them Eat Red Velvet Cake has been released!!!

Let Them Eat Red Velvet Cake – Painting by Emory Wood “Bob”

Two years ago in our cold basement Myke and I began work on The Little Black Bottles second album; Let Them Eat Red Velvet Cake. Most nights since, after we’ve tucked our son into bed and read him to sleep, have been spent collaborating, recording, mixing, playing and experimenting.

Finally we’ve completed this seemingly endless project. In the coarse of the two years our band has evolved from a 2 piece to a 3 piece to a 4 piece and back to a 2 piece. Our friends Jamie Thompson and Joy Wood joined the band for a while and recorded back-up vocals, bass and drums on the album. Our friend Greg Rothe pulled his dusty saxophone out from under his bed to record a sexy sax solo for the intro to the LP Version of Zombie Romance and Joy’s husband Bob aka Emory Wood, who is an amazing and passionate painter, created a one of a kind original painting for the albums cover art. Brady Hall provided the professional photos of the band and Maddie and Anessa helped with babysitting so we could work. Our good friend DW let us borrow his recording equipment so we could get a professional feel at home. Everybody’s help is greatly appreciated.

We’ve had a lot of fun recording this album and I would like to thank all our friends who contributed to its release! We could not have done it without you! Thanks guys.

The Songs:

The Bod Song – This song is about the character Nobody Owens in Neil Gaiman’s award winning novel, The Graveyard Book. It is the best book ever and the only read to ever make me cry.

Carrie White – This song is about the title character from Steven King’s novel Carrie. I wrote this song years ago in beauty school, way before I was ever in a band, before I was married, even way before I learned how to play ukulele. I just really thought the term “dirty pillows” needed to be in a song. I thought Carrie White needed to be further immortalized as a martyr for all the unpopular awkward telepathic high school girls with psychopathic mothers, which I would know nothing about. Sure I don’t. 🙂

Ghost Beneath the Sea – I wrote this song about Captain Nemo from 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. I fell in love with him when I was reading the book. It is an ultimate fantasy to have Myke sing this song from Nemo’s perspective.

Logan 5 – I never read this book but I love the movie Logan’s Run. The 1976 film starring Michael York has been a favorite of mine since I was 6 years old. I found it extremely haunting when the Sandman would laser blast the Runner turning his lifeless body into a pile of disappearing meat substance that would be vacuumed up by a Utopian custodian. I had to write about how there was No Sanctuary!

Letter to Miguel – Myke wrote this song about his favorite movie. The song is in the form of a letter to Miguel Salazar one of the minor characters in Day of the Dead. He wrote the song after watching the movie with our Jack Russel Terrier. Rosco, our dog, hates zombies and will attack the TV if he sees one.

Pretty Horses Nightmare – When I was a little girl we lived across the street from the fair grounds in Rifle Colorado. For a while my mother had a job working at the stables taking care of the elderly and bad tempered horses. Sometimes I would go with her and feed sugar cubes to a toothless, swayback horse named Dennis. One day while watching Dennis gum his sweet treat one of the larger, younger and bad tempered horses, Suzy, got out of her stall and chased me to the far side of the large stable. She charged at me, rearing up on her hind-legs and crashed them down furiously in front of me. My mother put herself in front of me so I would not be trampled while two other stable workers struggled to get Suzy back under control. After that I was afraid of horses and had nightmares.

When my son was born somebody gave me a CD with traditional folk lullabies. When I heard the song;  All the Pretty Little Ponies, I was determined to make it my own. So I adjusted it and now its Pretty Horses Nightmare. 

Stephen King Steals My Dreams – I have long been blessed with weird nightmares and odd dreams. When they are really crazy I like to share them with people hoping to entertain, delight and creep them out. One morning at the breakfast table in the CMC cafeteria in Glenwood Springs Colorado, where I lived in the dorms during my college years, I recalled a gruesome nightmare from the night before for some of my classmates. When I finished a friend told me that my dream could make it as a Stephen King novel. I thought about this years later when I sat down to write a song. Not only did my friend think my dreams would make spooky novels, but so did master of horror Stephen King, in fact he likes my nightmares so much that he built a brain machine to steal them from me.

Zombie Romance LP Version – The original song Zombie Romance was written after watching The Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price. What would it be like, if your better half was a zombie and you weren’t?

The LP Version of this song incorporates the whole band Joy and Jamie, Myke on harmonica and our friend Greg on sax. The original song was just me and Myke and is on our Werewolf of Moncton CD, its a little different but I like them both.

We had a great time putting this album together. I hope you enjoy it.

Check it out on Band Camp  Amazon  or  iTunes!  Put it on your pod and help us make more music! Thanks for your support!

Here’s the photo that inspired the title of the album. Myke’s mother made the most disgusting red velvet cake for my sister in-laws birthday one year. It was like a red velvet massacre in you your mouth. I loved it.

This entry was posted in I Made This, Realm of the Unfinished Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update – Let Them Eat Red Velvet Cake has been released!!!

  1. writingwildy says:

    Well I know how you write and I know how you play and sing so this is got be great! Congratulations and lots of success!

Leave a Reply

