The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts…coming soon!

In May of 2011 I wrote an article for Line Zero Magazine called The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts. The article was about my longing to be a professional “Art Student”. I have a lot of artist friends and over the years I’ve watched them go through their art school experience with my envious heart crying inside. When I was in high school many, many years ago, that’s what I wanted to do when I got out. What I cared most about as a teenager was art, drawing, painting sculpting and creating. I painted on the walls in my room, I constantly had a project going. I made movies with my friends, I wrote and illustrated my own stories. I loved to create. I had a young hip bohemian art teacher named Miss Manthey and she was helping me put together a portfolio, at the time I wanted to go to Cal Arts.

I never made it there. I let other people tell me where to go to school and what to do with my life. I still haven’t gotten to art school, but I have no regrets. I have an awesome husband and an amazingly bright 6 year old boy. However, I still want to go to art school, even though I might be the oldest person there, I still want to go.

My current situation isn’t ideal for school at this time. I live out of the city and won’t drive on the freeway. (Just one of those people who can only handle small town driving.) I’m pretty busy with mom duties, play dates, after school programs and the lot, all of which I love to do. I love being a stay at home mom and I love spending time with my family.

I was watching a documentary about Ray Bradbury one day and I found out he never went to college. He educated himself for free in his local library and made a career for himself out of plain old determination, imagination and talent. This is a simple yet priceless piece of information for yours truly, and at the moment I heard this I was struck by a brilliant personal revelation. I’ll just educate my own self in the ways of art. I’ll make my own art school tailored to me and my personal needs. I’ll do it with the resources already available to me and I’ll learn as much as I can. What should I call this institution that I invented to educate myself? The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts is named after the master who sparked my educational imagination, Mr. Ray Bradbury. (No official affiliation with the actual Ray Bradbury except in my own brain.)

On Tuesday I will be turning 34. I’m taking this opportunity to create a new beginning for my education in the arts. I’m opening up RBSCA to myself and anybody else who would like to follow along on this adventure. Look for the first assignment on November 1st.

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts…coming soon!

  1. Pingback: A Fine Founder of the Sci-Fi Frontier | tommiastablet

Leave a Reply

