The Cindy Sherman Experiment – Part 2 Damsel in Distress

Yesterday I got into the costume box and the make-up again. I wasn’t planning on doing any photos, I just wanted to experiment with my new blond sophisticate wig.

First I brushed it out and put it on, I bought this particular wig because I was planning on making an old lady character. The next thing I knew the character was already there. After puting on the wig I realized I knew just how to do my make-up and what to look for to wear.

I pulled out an old rabbit fur coat that my mother-in-law had given me a few years earlier. It was hers in the 70s. I’d been saving it to make a shrine to the white rabbit. I brought out the vintage pill box funeral hat that I had obtained for a performance I did a few months ago.

I looked in the mirror at a new character, not the old lady I had intended to create, but somebody else I wasn’t expecting to show up. She’s younger and prettier and slightly confused, but that’s okay. I got out my tripod and camera to welcome her into the experiment.

Here she is:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like the way my self-portraits are turning out, but I think I need to read up on lighting and  general photography stuff. If anybody out there has suggestions on literature or online tutorials that might help me in my studies, please don’t hesitate to share.

This entry was posted in Actuate, The Cindy Sherman Experiment, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

