The Cindy Sherman Experiment Part 5 – Being Myself

Over the last couple of months I’ve been studying the work of American artist Cindy Sherman. Cindy Sherman is well known for her portraits. She dresses up in costumes and make-up transforming herself into many different characters.

For my studies, I created 4 characters inspired by her work. I used old Halloween costumes and borrowed props from friends. I experimented with make-up and taking self portraits. I also took a few short clips of footage as I was portraying each character to experiment with animating my transformations. At the end of the film I portrayed myself.

In my spare time I work on my projects, but for the majority of my days I’m just me. I hang out with my 6 year old, read and play games. I volunteer at the elementary school art class.  I do my chores and I study. I attempt to sell Avon for extra cash to fund my projects and I take care of the household. At the end of the film is a collage of pictures and magnets on my refrigerator and a clip of me doing the dishes in my sweats (which is absolutely a daily activity for me). My husband Myke created the music last night to go with the film, and I really like the way it makes me look so dramatic while emptying the dishwasher.

I guess I just wanted to see what my mundane self looked like against my characters.

During this project the characters told me only one thing about themselves, their names, and in this video you get to see a piece of each of their personalities.

This entry was posted in Actuate, Live From the Watermelon Room, The Cindy Sherman Experiment, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cindy Sherman Experiment Part 5 – Being Myself

  1. Brooke Amelia Henn Boyer says:

    Excellent hair and makeup! You are a true artist! I love all your projects and you always inspire me!

  2. writingwildy says:

    Fantastic! I see Viv in you or should I say you in Viv? lol! Great work!

Leave a Reply

