I’m In Love…With Animation…

Art Work for My Paper Animation

Holy Smokes! I just reread my last two posts. I must say experimenting with time-lapse photography seems to make me surly and prone to swearing. I’m not complaining, sometimes it feels good to curse like a drunk sailor with one night’s leave in Bangkok.

That being said, today I’m meaning to post about what kind of animation I’m experimenting with now.

Paper Animation!

Yes, I spent most of the day yesterday fast forwarding through Monty Python episodes, just so I could watch the Terry Gilliam animations, while cutting figures out of magazines. It was for the sake of my studies. I also found this gem some time back, on youtube. Terry Gilliam explains how to animate with paper. Watch this, it is awesome:

I’m still just experimenting with different types of animation, trying to figure out what I like best. So far I like… all of it. Hmmm, no, I LOVE it. I love practicing animation. I’m in love with it. Like when you meet your soul mate. I embrace it. I think about it all the time. When I’m not working on a project I’m thinking about the next glorious moment I get to work on it again. I just…love it. I want to do this for the rest of my life. I had always wanted to try it. I’ve been a fan of animation and animators since I was a kid. I can’t believe I’ve waited until now to do it. It makes me so happy. I love it and I always want to learn more and more.

When I have done enough experiments and gained enough experience, I have a few stories that I have scripted out to make some short films. But for now, I need to experiment more so I can figure out how to bring these scrips to life.

I’m pretty sure most of the art I produce from now on will involve some sort of animation. God, finally I know what to do with my life. What a relief.

This entry was posted in Stop-Motion Animation, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m In Love…With Animation…

  1. tommiaw says:

    I will admit that I am very impressed with the films created and shared so far! Very inspiring and offers a new perspective on some things taken for granted.

Leave a Reply

