I Was Wondering…Is Anybody Listening?

It’s coming up on 3 years since I’ve started self-publishing my books. In this time I have only sold 2 books and have made a profit of $0.00, but that is not what is bothering me today.

I love to create and I will always do so weather or not I ever turn a profit. I will do so because I must. I will do so because it’s fun and it makes me happy. It’s as necessary as eating and sleeping. It’s part of each and every day in some form or another, even if I only have 5 minutes to spare by jotting down an idea.

Most of the art I make I end up giving away. There’s always somebody who likes what I’ve made and I am happy to give it to them for two reasons.

1)I’m running out of room in the house for all my projects.

2) It makes me feel good to see somebody enjoying something that I made, something that didn’t exist in this world until I thought it up and made it so. It makes me feel special and useful.

I have 3 books that I have created on blurb.com. I have made the entire book, on each of the books available to read in a preview. Creating books on blurb is a wonderful thing. When the books are printed they look beautiful, but I realize it is very expensive to actually print the books, but that doesn’t mean you can’t read them!

I would like to invite anybody and everybody to stop by my RojoRabbit page on blub.com and read my books. I have 3 books available right now.

When previewing these books look for the “full screen” mode in the lower right hand corner of the preview window and make the books full screen so you can read them.

Everything Alice-Snapshots from the Darker Side of Wonderland is my first creation. It’s a collection of photographs I took several years ago. This book was fueled by my obsession with Wonderland. You can view this book (here).

Allegory of the Dolls was my second book. When Jasper was a baby Myke and I would take trips to Antique Malls and thrift stores so I could find and photograph dolls. I love dolls and I can find a story in each and every one I meet. I can introcduce you to the friends I’ve made on this journey.  To escape into the bizarre life of a forgotten doll, preview the book (here).

Hidden Sanctuaries is a collection of landscapes and garden photos that I have taken over the years. These are the magical places I’ve uncovered on my adventures. I had to preserve them and share them, they seemed so perfect. I sat down with each photo and wrote a small poem to go with it. Please take a few moments and travel with me to some of my favorite places. View this book (here).

It has been almost 3 years since my first book. I do make these books for me, in a way. I make them because it is fun and a great way to pass the time but I also want them to have an audience. I make them for everybody and anybody. I would love to entertain you with my stories so if you have some time I would like to invite you to read them. Read all of them or read one of them or maybe just stop by and look at the pictures.

If you do stop by, leave me a comment. Let me know what you think. Tell me if you liked them or if you didn’t, hit the like button if you wish. Share these stories with as many friends as you’d like.  I welcome any discussion, advice or comment because I was just wondering…

“Is anybody listening?”

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other, I Made This, Made of Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Was Wondering…Is Anybody Listening?

  1. I’m listening. But I do use the like button when I like things but don’t have anything pressing to say. I have two novels and a box full of short stories. My mom has a house full of painted canvasses leaning against the walls. What to do? What to say? I’m listening.

    • It is hard to get one’s art out into the world and find an audience for it. I find that I enjoy sharing the things I create. I don’t know what I’m doing really, but I was curious to know if I had reached anyone. I am glad you’re listening, girl in the hat, I’m listening too, and I like your crow stories.

  2. I am definitely listening, and I love, love, love your amazing works. There’s that little problem of money, but I think I’m going to have a talk with my piggybank, Hans, and see if he can’t cough up a little change to buy a copy of Hidden Sanctuaries. Maybe if I promise to read him a poem from it everyday….
    I also shared the link to it on my Facebook wall, I’m adding your blog to my blog’s ‘Cool Artwork Links’ page, and Please…post your links on the SnoBoot SketchCats FB page. Anyone can post on the wall. It’s all about sharing your art! More venues means more views. And feel free to encourage purchases!

  3. Thanks for listening Sheri. I’m glad you liked my books. I am also looking into making the books e-readers for kindle and ipad. That will take the cost down immensely. On blurb you choose what you want your “profit” to be and mark the books up to that. I only add $5.00 to the profit because even for me to order the books it costs $40.00 to $80.00 dollars just to have them printed. I’ve been hearing from other people and they are not willing to pay that price for an art book by me. I really want them to be available to anyone who wants to read them so I’m trying to see if I can sell them as ebooks. There’s a few hoops I have to jump through first.

  4. caszbrewster says:

    I’m listening and I nominated you for Illuminating Blogger Award. See here: http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/

  5. Hello, I’m listening and love your “Everything Alice” book. I just admire the projects you do and in turn you inspire me to keep my sanity by being creative myself.

    • Thank you for listening! I love to share my work and it makes me so happy that you’re enjoying it! I love it that people are inspired to go out and create what they’ve always dreamed of.

      Between the library and youtube you can teach yourself almost anything. So far I’ve learned a lot about photography, creative writing, and stop-motion animation.

      The Alice book was my first adventure in creating and completing a big project. I didn’t really fancy myself a photographer, but when we took the photos I surprised to find out how much I liked them.

      I don’t know why it seemed so hard to have an idea and then follow through. I wasted years of good ideas before I discovered I could actually accomplish the crazy things I dreamed up.

      10 years ago I would have never believed I’d I could do these things. I’m so glad I swallowed my pride and just gave it a try.

      Thanks again for listening and I hope to see you out in the world creating awesome things! 🙂

  6. cramercare says:

    I just found your blog today. I am definitely going to buy your books! I will be coming back after doing some things in the actual outside world. My dogs are barking to try to get me away from the cocomputer.

Leave a Reply

