Eyes of the Storm

My friend Chayla is studying video media at her high school. A long time ago I asked if she’d like to model for some stop-motion experiments. Last week she got a hold of me and said she could get some school credit for helping me out and wanted to know if I was still interested. So on Saturday I had her come over and lay on the floor of my office for two hours while I piled layer upon layer of face paint, snapping photos after each brush stroke. I felt like I was torturing her, but she seemed pretty relaxed and ok with everything.

When I shot this, my lighting was very bad, so I took all 147 individual frames and touched them up in photoshop. I also added a vignette to hide her hair and neck. I like having just the face in the shot.

I have a lot to learn about lighting, my camera and my software, but guess what. Chayla is studying all these things in her class and has agreed to give me some lessons. I wish they had a video media class when I was in high school.

My friend Eric Edward did the original music for this short.

This entry was posted in I Made This, Live From the Watermelon Room, Stop-Motion Animation, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eyes of the Storm

  1. Very cool! A lot of work, and well done. Kudos to Eric for the music too…great combo.

Leave a Reply

