I’ve Been on Hiatus

I’ve been away, on purpose and not really on purpose.  I made a lot of art. I taught my first class. I met a lot of lovely new friends. I lost some beautiful old friends and loved ones. I got older. I became broken in different places on my body. I got fixed. I joined an arts coalition and helped organize events. I made posters, played music, listened to music and day dreamed. I broke my own heart, I taped it back together. I did the dishes, I rearranged the furniture.  I took long drives with the sun roof open in the rain. I cried and cried and laughed and laughed.

I watched TV with my husband and I watched my kid ride his bike without training wheels for the first time. I painted murals. I sold some art in my first gallery show. I did some stuff for free because I wanted to. I got paid for some things and it surprised me. I read some books. I got some plants. I made myself sick. I made myself well. I got lost. I pined. I missed and I loved. I checked the mail.

Some days I killed it! I did 199 firsts and won some games. Some days I couldn’t get out of bed and I lay there all day in pain. I got up again. I went to the thrift store and scored some treasures. I gave some stuff away.  I got stuck. I got unstuck. I accepted myself but only after I pretended to be a lot of other things.  I held on tight and didn’t want to let go. I let go.

Some days I tried really hard. Some days I completely gave up. Then I decided to try some more.  I watched helplessly while people I loved got hurt. I thought good thoughts for them and wished them well. I know it’s hard to think good thoughts and wish yourself well sometimes. That’s life. I get it. I get the good stuff. I get the bad stuff.

Even though I was busy I put myself on hiatus. I’m gonna come back now. I have some new ideas and I’m getting ready to work on some new things…

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Been on Hiatus

  1. Jackie, Wow it sounds like you HAVE REALLY BEEN LIVING A FULL LIFE! Good for you. THis is really tells a lot about living. And good for you for knowing when you need a break. We should all know ourselves that well and do it more often.

Leave a Reply

