I had an epiphany!

spreading love

Things have been slow for me in my personal artistic journey for quite some time now.

I have been participating in art in the community with The Black Dog Arts Coalition and I’ve’ve been volunteering with an art program at my son’s grade school. I love doing these things but I haven’t been interested in anything else for a long time or at least I didn’t know what I wanted to experiment with next.

I love serving my community through art and I will always be doing that, but at home, in my studio, I was blocked and couldn’t get much work done there.

Just now I was upstairs watching Eddie Martinez’s episode of Art 21 while I was eating my lunch and I had an epiphany!

I was watching him paint and thinking…

This guy seems cool.

Wow, look how big his studio is.

I kind of wish I could go and hang out with him and paint.

I like his dog.

Then …POW! I got excited about making art again! I found something new to be interested in; a new way to learn and grow and have experiences.

I want to arrange art dates with other artists. I want to go to their studios and workspaces and have them show me their materials and process and I want to see what I can come up with on my own, but in their world.

I don’t want to copy their art or their style or anything like that. I just want to learn about how they create and experiment with it in my own way. I want to understand creativity more by creating with others and exploring what drives them to do what they do.

The great thing about this idea is that I’m pretty sure that I can get started right away. I know, and I am friends with a lot of the artist’s in the Valley where I live. I know a few people who I think will agree to help me out with this experiment.

So here I go off into the world to see who will let me into their world.

To be continued with the story of who let’s me into their studio first…

Wish me luck. 🙂

This entry was posted in Actuate, Daily Something or Other, Let Me Into Your Studio!, The Ray Bradbury School of Creative Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I had an epiphany!

  1. Pingback: Speed Read | Tommia's Tablet

Leave a Reply

