Martin Luther King Day and a Year of Compassion Meditation

Last year on Martin Luther King day I took a meditation workshop. In honor of Dr. King we learned a compassion meditation that I have now been practicing regularly for a year. It has made a profound difference in my life. It completely changed the way I think of and deal with myself, my environment and the people in my life. It has helped me overcome heartache. It has helped me to repair the most damaged and toxic relationships in my life. It has helped me heal and it has helped me to become a kinder and more loving person. To do this meditation find a quiet, comfortable place to sit and give yourself 15 minutes to half an hour.

I perform this meditation at least once a week and sometimes several times a week when I am in a dark place inside.

Here’s how it goes:

First you address yourself and repeat these words in your mind three times.

I am safe, I am happy and healthy in my mind, I am happy and healthy in my body, I am happy and healthy in spirit, may I know the ease of well-being.

You address yourself first because you must first experience compassion toward yourself. When you repeat these phrases to yourself really imagine that you are safe, really imagine how it would feel to be happy and healthy in your mind, body and spirit. Feel the ease of well-being.

Now think of the person that you have the most trouble with in your life. For now we’ll call that person, Bill. Bill is full of drama and ill will and causes you the most pain in your life. Find your “Bill” and repeat these phrases three times replacing Bill with the person that you have the most trouble with in your life. This was hard for me at first, to turn my angst for a toxic person in my life into compassion, but it really heals those wounds. Hate in the heart is a poison! Get rid of it with compassion!

Bill, you are safe. You are happy and healthy in your mind, you are happy and healthy in your body, you are happy and healthy in your spirit. Bill, may you know the ease of well-being. 

Now you repeat the meditation for the area you live in. If you live in Seattle then the phrases may go like this:

People of Seattle, you are safe. You are happy and healthy in your mind, you are happy and healthy in your body, you are happy and healthy in your spirit. People of Seattle, may you know the ease of well-being.

Next for the meditation, think of a country that you barely know anything about, and repeat the phrases for the people you don’t know and may never meet in this lifetime. Really imagine them to be all the things you mention in your meditation. I’ll use the Ukraine here for an example, you may choose your own. I choose a different location every time I do this meditation.

People of Ukraine, you are safe. You are happy and healthy in your mind, you are happy and healthy in your body, you are happy and healthy in spirit. People of the Ukraine may you know the ease of well-being.

To end this meditation you imagine the Earth in whole. Think about the entire globe as your home and one giant living ecosystem. It’s where you were born, it’s where you live and it’s where you will die. Find in your heart a moment’s compassion for every vegetable, animal and mineral that makes up our Earthly home and repeat these phrases three times.

Planet Earth, you are safe. You are happy and healthy in your mind, you are happy and healthy in your body, you are happy and healthy in spirit. Planet Earth may you know the ease of well-being. 

I’ve been doing various versions of this meditation for a whole year now. It is my favorite meditation and the one I go to most often. It has dramatically changed how I feel and I really do feel so much happier and healthier. I have so much love in my heart that it’s constantly over-flowing. My relationships with my family, my friends and my community are so much healthier and fulfilling.

Maybe it will help you too. So with all the love in my heart, I share my experience with you! ❤

Photo from Upworthy's Fackbook page. It inspired today's post.

Photo from Adam Mordecai’s Fackbook page. It inspired today’s post.

This entry was posted in Daily Something or Other, Made of Words, Miscellaneous Adventures, The Church of the Sacred Heart of the Dreamer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

